Two women with disabilities talking

Who We Are

Who We Are

Who We Are

About the New York State Developmental Disabilities Planning Council (DDPC)

The federal Developmental Disabilities Act requires that each of the 56 U.S. States and Territories identify a Developmental Disabilities (DD) Council. The New York State Developmental Disabilities Planning Council (DDPC) is the DD Council representing New York State.  Although the DDPC is 100% federally-funded, it operates as a New York State agency under the direction of Governor Andrew M. Cuomo.

The DDPC is not a service provider. Our mission is carried out through grant work. The DDPC addresses the needs of people with intellectual and developmental disabilities through the development of demonstration projects around advocacy, systems change, and capacity building efforts that promote self-determination, integration, and inclusion in all facets of life.

If you are looking for services, visit the New York State Office for People with Developmental Disabilities (OPWDD) website for information on developmental disability services or visit the Multiple Systems Navigator website to find information about human service organizations and resources.

Council Membership

NYS DDPC Council members are volunteers appointed by the Governor and are people with intellectual and/or developmental disabilities (IDD) and family members of people with IDD. In addition, representatives from State agencies and other service provider organizations are members of the Council. Our diverse membership ensures input from people with many different skills and life experiences. The DDPC membership composition is directed by the DD Act of 2000 which is the authorizing law which created councils.







Shameka Andrews

Peter Cole

David Feickert, Jr.

Stuart Flaum

Tamelia Laquana Fritz

Ketrina Hazell

Megan Meyer

Wendy Orzel

Deirdre Staley

Jennifer C. Thau

Kitching Rhoda Wong



Susan Fox, PhD - President and CEO - Westchester Institute for Human Development

Karen Bonuck, PhD and Joanne F. Siegel, LCSW - Co-Directors - Rose F. Kennedy University Center for Excellence

Susan Hetherington, PhD - Director - Strong Center for Developmental Disabilities



Honorable Anthony J. Annucci - Acting Commissioner - NYS Department of Corrections and Community Supervision

Honorable Theodore Kastner - Commissioner - NYS Office for People with Developmental Disabilities

Honorable Shannon Tahoe - Acting Commissioner - NYS Education Department

Honorable Marie Therese Dominguez - Commissioner - NYS Department of Transportation

Honorable Denise Miranda - Executive Director - NYS Justice Center for the Protection of People with Special Needs

Honorable Greg Olsen - Acting Director - NYS Office for the Aging

Honorable Michael P. Hein - Commissioner - NYS Office of Temporary and Disability Assistance

Honorable RuthAnne Visnauskus - Commissioner - NYS Homes and Community Renewal

Honorable Howard A. Zucker, M.D., J.D. - Commissioner - NYS Department of Health


Council Member Duties

Council Members serve on committees and subcommittees, attend Full Council and committee meetings, take part in discussions, presentations, development of projects and initiatives, review and vote on funding motions, and review and approve State Plans.

What It Means to be a Council Member

Council Member Code of Conduct

Council Membership Form